Hello, Mnquma Local Municipality
welcomes you!

  • New Dipping Tank for Ntseshe Woolgrowers Association

    Read More


Mnquma Local Municipality is located in the South Eastern part of the Eastern Cape Province. This category B municipality falls under the jurisdiction of the Amathole District Municipality (ADM) and comprises of an amalgamation of the former Butterworth, Ngqamakhwe and Centane TRC’s.Mnquma Municipaliy shares borders with three other local municipalities i.e. Mbhashe, Intsika Yethu and Great Kei Municipality. This also includes a number of previously administered rural areas. It is approximately 32 995 240 square kilometres and consists of 31 wards.

Mnquma Local Municipality has a total population of approximately 252 390 people, 99% of which are Xhosa speaking African. The remaining 1% of the population includes English, Afrikaans, Zulu and Sesotho speaking people. The municipality comprises of 54% female and 46% male of the total population and consists of approximately 75410 households.

Latest News

published 30 Mar 2019
Transport, Safety and Liaison MEC Weziwe Tikana engagement session with residents during Department of Transport Safety and Liaison roadshows in Mnqum... read more »
published 30 Mar 2019
Mnquma bids farewell to Councillor Guqaza read more »
published 30 Mar 2019
Handover of new dip tank for Ntseshe Woolgrowers Association in Ngqamakwe. read more »
published 29 Mar 2019
Mayoral Imbizo held at Ward 19 read more »
published 29 Mar 2019
Engagement session with residents, local businesses and stakeholders on illegal mining concerns within the municipality's jurisdiction. read more »

Latest Publications